Ted Curson Award presented to Linda Fredriksson

Saxophone player and composer Linda Fredriksson is the winner of Ted Curson Award, a prize which is granted annually by Pori Jazz and presented to an artist having a prominent role in the programming of the festival. Drummer Okko Saastamoinen has been selected as the emerging talent of the year.

Linda Fredriksson is a well-known musician in the Finnish jazz scene after playing in several bands and collaborating with a vast number of musicians in jazz and beyond. The baritone and alto saxophonist is probably best known for her role in the band Mopo, the group which is celebrating the 50th anniversary of Neil Armstrong’s iconic moonwalk on Saturday, July 20th. The commissioned concert is titled simply “Mopo on the Moon”. Fredriksson is also performing at Pori Jazz 2019 with the groups Superposition! and Ricky-Tick Big Band & Julkinen Sana.

Drummer Okko Saastamoinen, 24, is one of the most interesting young jazz musicians to come out of the Finnish scene during the last couple of years. His main vehicle has been OK:KO, the group of young musicians which has received a lot of praise for its two studio albums. OK:KO is performing at Pori Jazz 2019 on Friday, July 19th.

Pori Jazz 2019 will kick off on Friday, July 12th. The gates of Jazz Park, the admission-free area of the festival, will open at 18.00.